The New Kid on the Block

The New Kid on the Block

Poems

Book - 1984 | First edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2

From beloved and bestselling poet Jack Prelutsky come over 100 hilarious poems about strange creatures and people--from jellyfish stew to a bouncing mouse, to the very unexpected new kid! For fans of Shel Silverstein and Louis Sachar's Wayside School series. "The illustrations bring the frivolity to a fever pitch."--School Library Journal.

Open this book to any page to begin your exploration. Here are poems about things that you may never have thought about before. You'll be introduced to jellyfish stew, a bouncing mouse, a ridiculous dog, and a boneless chicken.

You'll learn why you shouldn't argue with a shark, eat a dinosaur, or have an alligator for a pet. You'll meet the world's worst singer and the greatest video game player in history. You'll even find an invitation to a dragon's birthday party....

This playful collection is a wonderful introduction to the pleasures of poetry and word play from a master of the genre, Jack Prelutsky.

"It's the author's joyous sense of the absurd that propels the reader from page to page."--Horn Book (starred review)

Publisher: New York : Greenwillow Books, [1984]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©1984
ISBN: 9780688022716
9780688022723
Branch Call Number: J 811.54 Prelu
Characteristics: 159 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.
Additional Contributors: Stevenson, James 1929-2017.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
k
KatieSkarlette
Feb 06, 2020

Shel Silverstein is more famous, but as a kid I always preferred Prelutsky, especially this book. His twisted sense of humor, wild imagination, clever word play, and unwillingness to take anything too seriously make his poems so much fun to read. They're also well suited to read aloud. I can still recite parts of my favorites over thirty years later!

k
kittiarra
Jun 19, 2013

Modern Shel Silverstein

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top