A Good Marriage

A Good Marriage

A Novel

Large Print - 2020 | First Harper Large Print edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5

COMING SOON FROM AMAZON AND NICOLE KIDMAN'S BLOSSOM FILMS

A New York Times Summer Reads Selection | A People Best Book of the Summer | A Library Reads Pick | A Book Riot Addictive New Thriller to Add to Your TBR Pile | A Book of the Month Selection | A Publishers Weekly Summer Reads Pick | A Bookish Most-Anticipated Novel | A Good Morning America "Binge This!" Pick

Big Little Lies meets Presumed Innocent in this "irresistible domestic drama" (Washington Post) from the New York Times bestselling author of Reconstructing Amelia, in which a woman's brutal murder reveals the perilous compromises some couples make--and the secrets they keep--in order to stay together.

Lizzie Kitsakis is working late when she gets the call. Grueling hours are standard at elite law firms like Young & Crane, but they'd be easier to swallow if Lizzie was there voluntarily. Until recently, she'd been a happily underpaid federal prosecutor. That job and her brilliant, devoted husband Sam--she had everything she'd ever wanted. And then, suddenly, it all fell apart.

No. That's a lie. It wasn't sudden, was it? Long ago the cracks in Lizzie's marriage had started to show. She was just good at averting her eyes.

The last thing Lizzie needs right now is a call from an inmate at Rikers asking for help--even if Zach Grayson is an old friend. But Zach is desperate: his wife, Amanda, has been found dead at the bottom of the stairs in their Brooklyn brownstone. And Zach's the primary suspect.

As Lizzie is drawn into the dark heart of idyllic Park Slope, she learns that Zach and Amanda weren't what they seemed--and that their friends, a close-knit group of fellow parents at the exclusive Brooklyn Country Day school, might be protecting troubling secrets of their own. In the end, she's left wondering not only whether her own marriage can be saved, but what it means to have a good marriage in the first place.

Publisher: New York, NY : Harper, [2020]
Edition: First Harper Large Print edition.
Copyright Date: ©2020
ISBN: 9780063000155
0063000156
Branch Call Number: Large Print FIC McCre
Characteristics: 594 pages

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
g
Ginamarguerite
Dec 13, 2020

What a fantastic, white knuckle, hold your breath, page turner. Somehow I missed reading McCreight before this and owe the Novato Library, my local library, for turning me on to her. As a side note, each week my library sends out a newsletter of all their newest acquisitions. With the SIP (shelter in place) they went above and beyond and ordered a large number of ebooks.

McCreight starts off by taking you down one path...students in an elite school are off to summer camp and the parents are ready to play. She introduces you to the various couples and it starts to read like a women's fiction. It's interesting but not overly dramatic. In fact the beginning isn't dramatic at all. The author lulls you into an almost relaxing read -- yes there is a murder and a suspect. But the details take you down one path where you think you've got it figured out.

Lizzie, the main character, is an attorney. Out of love for her husband and need she's given up her dream job for the corporate world. Out of the blue an old law school friend calls her for help. With that phone call she enters a world she never thought to be a part of....and it isn't all good. In the midst of her defense of this old friend one sentence turns her world upside down. She asks one question and the answer is not anything she was expecting. From that point on...just one short sentence....the story begins twists and turns taking you down one road that intersects with another that doubles you back, but in a way you don't expect.

I would have liked to have more of a conclusion, more of the truth about Amanda's history be told. At almost 400 pages another 25 would have given closure to that. It is this seemingly dropped story thread that makes this book a 4-1/2 instead of a 5.

This was a perfect stay at home rainy day read -- but a book that will keep you turning pages no matter the time of year or weather. Definitely one to put on the top of your reading list.

FPL_Lori Nov 18, 2020

"A Good Marriage" is a deftly written murder mystery that is also part legal thriller and psychological suspense. McCreight will have you turning pages and guessing who did it until the end. Highly recommended for fans of Liane Moriarty and Gillian Flynn.

JCLS_Ashland_Kristin Sep 21, 2020

Fans of the die-hard fans of the twisty mystery will enjoy. This plot relied on too many moving parts as the smoke screen for the twists and didn't entirely work for this reader...but I still couldn't put it down.

l
lurkykitty
Jul 27, 2020

A Good Marriage is a well-written page-turner of a legal thriller guaranteed to keep you reading into the night. It starts with a murder of a woman, Amanda, and the subsequent suspicion of her husband, Zach, for that murder. Lizzie Kitsakis, a federal prosecutor turned elite firm lawyer, gets the call from Zach, a friend from law school with whom she has lost touch and agrees to represent him. To clear her client's name she delves into the lives of the super wealthy in Park Slope Brooklyn whose children attend a prestigious private school.
There are multiple layers of secrets and delusions. Dysfunctional marriages abound. Lizzie is a likeable but flawed character and must confront the problems within her own marriage to disentangle the many interconnected webs surrounding Amanda's death. The suspense is built deftly and the reader is hooked. For fans of Big Little Lies.

b
brangwinn
May 31, 2020

I love a book with flawed characters and from the beginning of this mystery we know the characters have challenges. The thing they are best at is concealing their problems, like adultery, drug abuse and financial problems. And, boy, are there secrets. It’s a good book to read while trying to escape the real life going on around us.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top