The Time Has Come

The Time Has Come

Why Men Must Join the Gender Equality Revolution

Book - 2019
Rate this:

In the vein of Tim Wise's White Like Me and Sheryl Sandberg's Lean In , The Time Has Come --by co-founder of the White Ribbon campaign Michael Kaufman -- offers a plain-spoken and forthright look at why and how men must actively fight for gender equality.

From founding the White Ribbon Campaign, the world's largest organized effort of men working to end violence against women, in the early 1990s, to his appointment as the only male member of the G7 Gender Equality Advisory Council, Michael Kaufman has been a major figure in promoting social justice and women's rights for decades. Now, in The Time Has Come , he issues a stirring call for men to mobilize in the movement for gender equality.

Weaving together sociological data, personal experiences, and insights gleaned from decades of work with governments and NGOs around the globe, Kaufman explores topics ranging from domestic violence to parental leave, grappling with the ways in which a culture of toxic masculinity hurts women and men (and their children). Informative and provocative, The Time Has Come demonstrates how real gender equality creates advancements in both the workplace and the global economy, and urges men to become dedicated allies in dismantling the patriarchy.

Publisher: [Toronto] : Anansi, 2019.
ISBN: 9781487006532
1487006535
Branch Call Number: 305.420811 Kau
Characteristics: x, 261 pages

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top