The Tumbling Turner Sisters

The Tumbling Turner Sisters

Book - 2017 | First Gallery Books trade paperback edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
For fans of Orphan Train and Water for Elephants , a compelling historical novel from "one of the best authors of women's fiction" ( Library Journal ). Set against the turbulent backdrop of American Vaudeville, four sisters embark on an unexpected adventure--and a last-ditch effort to save their family.

It's 1919, and the Turners are barely scraping by. When their father loses his job, their irrepressible mother decides that vaudeville is their best chance to make the rent--and create a more exciting life for herself in the process.

Traveling by train from town to town, teenagers Gert, Winnie, and Kit, and recent widow Nell soon find a new kind of freedom in the company of performers who are as diverse as their acts. There is a seamier side to the business, however, and the young women face dangers and turns of fate they never could have anticipated. Heartwarming and surprising, The Tumbling Turner Sisters is ultimately a story of awakening--to unexpected possibilities, to love and heartbreak, and to the dawn of a new American era.
Publisher: New York : Gallery Books, 2017.
Edition: First Gallery Books trade paperback edition.
Copyright Date: ©2016
ISBN: 9781501145346
Branch Call Number: FIC Fay
Characteristics: 339 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
j
jy8447
Jan 18, 2020

Very entertaining, good read

SPL_Pam Jan 20, 2017

"The Tumbling Turner Sisters" is a romp into the world of vaudeville set in 1919, New York State. When the four Turner sisters' father is suddenly unemployed, Mother convinces her four daughters to dream-up an act to take to Vaudeville. Told in the voices of sisters Winnie and Gert, we're drawn into the world of Vaudeville and its colourful cast of characters. Filled with ups and downs, love and heartache, and plenty of laughs, we learn what motivates each of the strong Turner women. Fans of Christina Baker Kline's "Orphan Train" and Sara Gruen's "Water for Elephants" may enjoy this read.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top