Something in the Water

Something in the Water

A Novel

Large Print - 2018 | Large print edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
28
4
1
 …
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut--for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena.

"A psychological thriller that captivated me from page one. What unfolds makes for a wild, page-turning ride! It's the perfect beach read!"--Reese Witherspoon (Reese's Book Club x Hello Sunshine book pick)

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY GLAMOUR AND NEWSWEEK * FINALIST FOR THE ITW THRILLER AWARD

If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you?

Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . .

Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares?

Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . .

Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave?

Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman's enthralling voice shines throughout this spellbinding debut novel. With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Something in the Water challenges the reader to confront the hopes we desperately cling to, the ideals we're tempted to abandon, and the perfect lies we tell ourselves.

Praise for Something in the Water

"Superbly written, clever and gripping." --B. A. Paris, New York Times bestselling author of Behind Closed Doors

"Deliciously dramatic." -- Entertainment Weekly

"Thrilling . . . the perfect beach read." -- PopSugar

"A dark glittering gem of a thriller." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Arresting . . . deftly paced, elegantly chilly . . . [Catherine] Steadman brings . . . wit, timing and intelligence to this novel. . . . Something in the Water is a proper page-turner." -- The New York Times
Publisher: New York : Random House Large Print, [2018]
Edition: Large print edition.
ISBN: 9780525632924
Branch Call Number: Large Print FIC Stead
Characteristics: 466 pages (large print) ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
ReadingAdviser_Lori Jun 10, 2019

A thriller with a sense of humour. Set in London and Bora Bora.

4
4grandkids_1
May 10, 2019

No likable characters here but a good plot.

k
kateisaredhead
May 08, 2019

Great, suspense-filled book. I didn't want it to end. Would make a great movie!

e
ELC605
Apr 02, 2019

This strikes me a book that was written with an eye towards selling the movie rights. Neither of the main characters is particularly likable, but I read to the end just to see who betrayed whom.

a
ariesnvancouver
Mar 03, 2019

Terrible.

g
Gulkh
Feb 16, 2019

So boring. So lame. What an overtly contrived story. A total waste of my time.

MGBustillo Jan 26, 2019

A dreamy honeymoon takes a wicked turn in Bora Bora where “something in the water” forces the couple to keep secrets, make a devious plan and ultimately risk their lives.

d
DBoden88
Jan 25, 2019

As many others have remarked, the initial chapters are gripping; however, the majority of the book continues as a 'slow burn'. A documentary writer and her new husband honeymoon in Bora Bora only to find 'something in the water.' They end their trip early and head back to London but their 'discovery' has followed them home... Overall this was a decent debut that kept me engaged but it failed to meet my expectations. I'm beginning to believe that celebrity endorsement (this one was a selection in Reese Witherspoon's Book Club) is [lucratively] beneficial for the writer + celebrity but leaves the reader underwhelmed.

s
sjcrisp
Jan 09, 2019

Easy read. I wasn't 100% happy with the ending and I have a few unanswered questions, but it was a good book.

s
SJM7323
Dec 26, 2018

Per my tablet, apparently I was 40% into the book when I had to stop. I was so bored with the story. I couldn't take it anymore. There was way too much fluff and extra inconsequential details, that it detracted from where the story was seeming to go. This is the second book I have read (or tried to read) on Reese's book list. I didn't care for the other book either. Apparently Reese and I don't agree on books.

View All Comments

Notices

Add Notices
c
coxkelsey72
Feb 27, 2019

Violence: Moments of violence with mildly graphic descriptions

c
coxkelsey72
Feb 27, 2019

Frightening or Intense Scenes: Some scenes described may be intense for readers who are sensitive to violence/death

c
coxkelsey72
Feb 27, 2019

Sexual Content: Mentioned, but no graphic descriptions

c
coxkelsey72
Feb 27, 2019

Coarse Language: Swearing and explicit language

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
c
coxkelsey72
Feb 27, 2019

coxkelsey72 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Quotes

Add a Quote
ReadingAdviser_Lori Jun 10, 2019

"You naughty girl. It's always the quiet ones, ain't it!"

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top