The Four Swans

The Four Swans

A Novel of Cornwall, 1795-1797

Book - 2008
Average Rating:
Rate this:
NOW A MAJOR BBC SERIES"From the incomparable Winston Graham... who has everything that anyone else has, then a whole lot more" The GuardianThe Four Swans is the sixth novel in Winston Graham's sweeping series of Cornwall, Poldark.Cornwall 1795 -1799. Although Ross Poldark - now something of a war hero - seems secure in his hard-won prosperity, a new dilemma faces him in the sudden infatuation of a young naval officer for his wife Demelza.All four women - the four swans - whose lives touch Ross's face a crisis in these years. For his wife Demelza, his old love Elizabeth, for his friend's new wife Caroline and for the unhappy Morwenna Chynoweth these are times of stress and conflict.
Publisher: London : Pan Books, 2008.
ISBN: 9780330463348
Branch Call Number: FIC Graha
Characteristics: 581 pages : genealogical table ; 20 cm.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Oct 18, 2018

The Poldark series continues strong - this text brings us to the conclusion of the BBC series' third season, with increasing levels of conflict abroad (as a certain "Buonaparte" causes waves on the international scene) and at home, as love lives in almost every relationship are tested and challenged.

bkilfoy Aug 12, 2016

A subtler novel in the series with no sudden spates of action, there is still plenty to enjoy. Watching the characters continue to develop is really my favourite part of these books and they often do so in ways I don't anticipate. While Ross and Demelza remain my favourites (and I was mildly disappointed that they received slightly lower page counts than some of the other character arcs this time around), all of the twining plot lines are fascinating. I was especially surprised by Demelza's actions and developments in this novel and as always, I look forward to seeing what comes next for her and Ross. I also am intrigued by the potential of the narrative arcs going forward given the latest twists in Ross's professional life.

Jul 27, 2016

The four swans: Demelza, Elizabeth, Caroline, Morwenna. Four views of love - wanted, desired, despised, destructive. Book 6 in the Poldark series.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at VPL

To Top