Educated

Educated

A Memoir

Book - 2018 | First Canadian edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
146
7
1
 …

For readers of The Glass Castle and Wild, a stunning new memoir about family, loss and the struggle for a better future

#1 International Bestseller

Tara Westover was seventeen when she first set foot in a classroom. Instead of traditional lessons, she grew up learning how to stew herbs into medicine, scavenging in the family scrap yard and helping her family prepare for the apocalypse. She had no birth certificate and no medical records and had never been enrolled in school.

Westover's mother proved a marvel at concocting folk remedies for many ailments. As Tara developed her own coping mechanisms, little by little, she started to realize that what her family was offering didn't have to be her only education. Her first day of university was her first day in school--ever--and she would eventually win an esteemed fellowship from Cambridge and graduate with a PhD in intellectual history and political thought.

Publisher: Toronto, Ontario : HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, [2018]
Edition: First Canadian edition.
ISBN: 9781443452472
Branch Call Number: 370.92 Westo
Characteristics: xv, 334 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

The author describes how she went from being a home schooled younger daughter in a fundamentalist Mormon family in Idaho to a Cambridge (UK), PhD in intellectual history.

Comment
VaughanPLDavidB Jan 18, 2019

I'm not sure what to think about this book. I swing between it being one of the most amazing things I've read, to thinking it's too incredible to be true. It is vividly written, but at times is hardly to be believed. The author seems to have managed to overcome an upbringing that would squelch... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
a
AnneCarolineDrake
Aug 17, 2019

Doris Buffett (Warren's sister) has a theory that perpetrators of child abuse are mentally ill. This is definitely true of Tara Westover's survivalist, Mormon father. He didn't allow his children to receive a formal education or medical attention.

Yet, three of his kids received PhD's. Their childhoods were spent in abject poverty, but their mother's essential oils and herbs ultimately made the parents quite wealthy.

The story is Glass Castle meets Hillbilly Elegy with a side of stellar education. Yes, Tara Westover is brilliant, but she is also horridly wounded emotionally.

m
mardscott
Aug 15, 2019

Awesome book! If I thought this memoir had been a work of fiction, I would have put it down after the first few chapters because what happened to Tara Westover growing up is so unbelievable! She survived a family controlled by a compulsive obsessive father and brother who did love her but didn't show it like "normal" fathers and brothers. It is a miracle she survived! Plus, she was discouraged from pursuing education, never attended a public or private elementary or secondary school, and, basically, taught herself until college. Tara Westover's memoir should be read by everyone.

d
Dino789
Aug 13, 2019

Whenever I see a book like this I wonder if the publisher thoroughly investigated the work. Memoirs are, after all, the undiluted recollections of one person, and sometimes turn out to be inaccurate. If true, it's a marvelous story about how some people can overcome disadvantages; if not, it's just a story. Writers should be clear whether or not they are writing an autobiography or a novel; which category best describes this book?

f
Fdutton
Aug 09, 2019

Certainly one of the best books I have ever read! The content and issues in this book made it difficult to read - but still a page-turner that I couldn't put down. A roller coaster of ups and downs, though more downs than ups overall; still, a relatively happy ending (at least, for the author). It brought to mind the horrific story of the Turpins and their 13 children in California and that absolutely surreal situation that no outsiders seemed to notice. That story and this one seem incredible and unbelievable - but only because we haven't had to survive those worlds. Why do people stay with or go back to abusive situations? It's something we see frequently enough in the world and is difficult for many to understand - but that doesn't make it less real. The saddest part about this book is that Tara's family story is surely not unique - that's a very disturbing thought! Now, waiting and hoping for the movie.

e
Edisto
Aug 07, 2019

I read Educated in one day. It made me angry, it was upsetting but also an extraordinary book to read. Tara had no idea how dysfunctional and crazy her family was and endured physical and emotional abuse from her ulltra survivalist Mormon family. It's a wonder she made it out of that enviroment but is still carrying deep scars from it.

l
lesliegay
Aug 05, 2019

There is always a solid reason why books dominate the bestseller lists and become part of the national conversation. Educated more than exceeds the hype and is a truly unique narrative voice - perhaps as said, as the author didn't grow up reading the standard classroom education books and YA literature, her dry pragmatic tone allows for the reader to find inspiration in the tale, amidst the provocative characters and at times brutal developments that challenge the reader to look at their own lives and paths. Truly worth reading and inspiring!

l
LauraSteinert
Aug 01, 2019

Educated got excellent reviews, and I thought to myself "You should read that. Memoirs are a way to understand people who are different from yourself." Imagine my surprise when instead of plowing my way through a book that would be "good for me," I discovered a book that allowed me to create a deep emotional bond with a woman I will never meet. I expected a book that would denounce Mormons, as most of the memoirs of growing up Mormon do; instead I found a very human woman struggling to overcome the abuses she suffered at the hands of a mentally ill father and a mother so cowed by her faith and her trained by false doctrine that she could not prevent the abuse of herself and her own children.
This is a moving, thought provoking story of what it means to live with mental illness and the failure of families to take a stand against abuse and for mental health treatments. Tara Westover's fate is rare; she is one of the very few who survive such a childhood able to cope with reality. Brava.

k
kaydee50
Jul 31, 2019

I'm in the minority here. Could not finish this book. Read about half. To me it seemed like fiction. She never went to school but got into BYU? Also could not relate to any of the characters. Just another dysfunctional family which I do not enjoy reading about.

a
amymcnamara1993
Jul 30, 2019

Riveting -- could not put down.

CMLibrary_sdeason Jul 27, 2019

A wonderfully written memoir! It is clear that the members of this family are gifted with some innate ability to learn, but denied the support of their parents for a traditional education. The complicated relationships and recognition of self value make this an enlightening memoir.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
f
finfry
Feb 18, 2019

"Dad and his mother got along like two cats with their tails tied together. They could talk for a week and not agree about anything, but they were tethered by their devotion to the mountain."

c
cknightkc
Jan 08, 2019

“You are not fool’s gold, shining only under a particular light. Whomever you become, whatever you make yourself into, that is who you always were.”

c
cknightkc
Jan 08, 2019

“My life was narrated for me by others. Their voices were forceful, emphatic, absolute. It had never occurred to me that my voice might be as strong as theirs.”

c
cknightkc
Jan 08, 2019

“Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery
None but ourselves can free our minds” — Bob Marley
p. 257

s
stuhaas
Dec 17, 2018

I was able to tell myself that it didn't affect me, that he didn't affect me, because nothing affected me....I had misunderstood the vital truth: that it's not affecting me, that was its effect.

ArapahoeMaryA Oct 23, 2018

My life was narrated for me by others. Their voices were forceful, emphatic, absolute. It had never occurred to me that my voice might be as strong as theirs.

DBRL_ReginaF Mar 14, 2018

“You can love someone and still choose to say goodbye to them,” she says now. “You can miss a person every day, and still be glad that they are no longer in your life.”

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
p
pink_dolphin_3025
Mar 23, 2019

pink_dolphin_3025 thinks this title is suitable for 7 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top