Brief Histories of Everyday Objects

Brief Histories of Everyday Objects

Book - 2016 | First edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
In the tradition of A Cartoon History of the Universe and, most recent, Randall Munroe's What If ? comes Brief Histories of Everyday Objects--an intrepid, graphic tour through the unusual stories behind the creation of some of the overlooked items that surround us in our daily lives. Chapters introduce readers to a cast of inventors whoseideas led to the ballpoint pen riots, cowboy wars, and really bad Victorian practical jokes. Structured around the different locations in our home and daily life--the kitchen, the bathroom, the office, and the grocery store--award-nominated comic artist Andy Warner traces the often surprising and sometimes complex histories behind the itemswe often take for granted. Readers learn how: Velcro was invented by a Swiss engineer after he took his dog for a walk; the coffee filter was created by a German housewife; the Slinky was devised by a naval engineerer while on board ship; and Monopoly was developed by a radical feminist as an anticapitalist lesson.This is both a book of histories and a book about histories. It explores how whims beget realities, lies become legends, trade routes spring up, and empires rise and fall--all from the perspective of your toothbrush or toilet.* For readers of A Cartoon History of the Universe and Randall Munroe's What If?
Publisher: New York : Picador, 2016.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9781250078650
Branch Call Number: Warne
Characteristics: 206 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

minettebkr Jun 21, 2018

Funny and informative.
:-)

d
dawnoflibraries
May 04, 2017

This is such a fun graphic novel. Great if you are the sort of person who loves learning all kinds of random facts! Would be a great booktalk for teens or adults.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top