Brief Histories of Everyday Objects

Brief Histories of Everyday Objects

Book - 2016 | First edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
In the tradition of A Cartoon History of the Universe and, most recent, Randall Munroe's What If ? comes Brief Histories of Everyday Objects--an intrepid, graphic tour through the unusual stories behind the creation of some of the overlooked items that surround us in our daily lives. Chapters introduce readers to a cast of inventors whoseideas led to the ballpoint pen riots, cowboy wars, and really bad Victorian practical jokes. Structured around the different locations in our home and daily life--the kitchen, the bathroom, the office, and the grocery store--award-nominated comic artist Andy Warner traces the often surprising and sometimes complex histories behind the itemswe often take for granted. Readers learn how: Velcro was invented by a Swiss engineer after he took his dog for a walk; the coffee filter was created by a German housewife; the Slinky was devised by a naval engineerer while on board ship; and Monopoly was developed by a radical feminist as an anticapitalist lesson.This is both a book of histories and a book about histories. It explores how whims beget realities, lies become legends, trade routes spring up, and empires rise and fall--all from the perspective of your toothbrush or toilet.* For readers of A Cartoon History of the Universe and Randall Munroe's What If?
Publisher: New York : Picador, 2016.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9781250078650
Branch Call Number: Warne
Characteristics: 206 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
k
Kyanite
Apr 01, 2019

In many cases, the stories are not so much the history/ origin of something but a funny historical anecdote that features that item. So that was a bit of a let-down. But it's an enjoyable enough read.

h
humbleworm
Jan 05, 2019

Light reading about the background of common inventions in an illustrated format. Much of this information is widely available in greater detail on the internet these days for those who seek it so the key value of this book is in the mildly-humourous, approachable way it is presented.

minettebkr Jun 21, 2018

Funny and informative.
:-)

d
dawnoflibraries
May 04, 2017

This is such a fun graphic novel. Great if you are the sort of person who loves learning all kinds of random facts! Would be a great booktalk for teens or adults.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top