In Darkling Wood

In Darkling Wood

Book - 2017 | First American edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
For fans of Kelly Barnhill's The Girl Who Drank the Moon and Jack Cheng's See You in the Cosmos, here is "a haunting and poignant exploration of family, loss, and redemption" ( Booklist, Starred Review).

When Alice is suddenly bundled off to her estranged grandmother Nell's house, there's nothing good about it, except the beautiful Darkling Wood at the end of the garden--but Nell wants to have it cut down. Alice feels at home there, at peace. She even finds a friend, a girl named Flo. But Flo doesn't go to the local school, and no one in town has heard of her. When Flo shows Alice the surprising secrets of Darkling Wood, Alice starts to wonder: What is real? And can she find out in time to save the wood from destruction?

Don't miss Emma Carroll's new novel, Strange Star !

★ " A haunting and poignant exploration of family, loss, and redemption. "-- Booklist, Starred Review

★ " A tale brimming with emotion and atmosphere....[ In Darkling Wood ] is absorbing and well written. Hand this to readers who enjoy fantasy, fairy tales, and magical realism."-- School Library Journal, Starred Review

" Magic and mystery adds appeal to this already compelling family drama ...and Carroll manages to wrap all of the threads into a wholly satisfying ending. "--Bulletin

" Beautifully drawn , and the pragmatic prose and completely modern language (except for the letters) ground the story. The fairies aren't covered in pixie dust here. Carroll is becoming well-known in her native Engl∧ this book should win her American fans."- Kirkus Reviews
Publisher: New York : Delacorte Press, [2017]
Edition: First American edition.
Copyright Date: ©2015
ISBN: 9780399556012
Branch Call Number: J FIC Carro
Characteristics: 231 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

When Alice goes to stay with her grandmother, she discovers the magical Darkling Wood, where she meets a strange girl named Flo. According to Flo, the Darkling Wood is full of fairies, and Alice must stop her grandmother from cutting down the trees, or face the fairies' revenge.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

MissLauraStorytime Jul 07, 2017

In Darkling Wood is a book that kids in grades 3 & up will enjoy reading, for the people in Alice's family, and Alice herself, who have genuine life struggles, for the ways in which they handle (or avoid handling) those struggles, for the setting of Darkling Wood, and for Alice's adventures there. The letters from Alice's grandmother's past that are included in the book as the family link with Darkling Wood will best be understood by kids who have some knowledge of WWI, but this can be provided by a teacher or parent as well. Ultimately, this is a pleasant and engaging read that presents Alice with a set of challenges that she works hard to overcome, and she does so in a way that kids can identify with. Kids will also like the fairy tale element that the Darkling Wood puts into the middle of a realistic story.

Chapel_Hill_MarthaW Mar 22, 2017

I really enjoyed this, for a lot of reasons -- I liked the feel it had of a sort of modern day fairy tale, in the sense that it wasn't straight up fantasy so much as magical realism. I liked the main character, Alice, and all the members of her family, whom Carroll writes as being flawed people dealing with something really tough (her little brother just had a heart transplant) and not often handling it as well as they could. I liked the elements of the past that were woven in through WWI-era letters from a girl to her brother on the front. I loved how oh-so-British this was. It was just a quiet, lovely story.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top