Hello, Universe

Hello, Universe

Book - 2017 | First edition.
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:

"A charming, intriguingly plotted novel . . ."--Washington Post

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly's Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. Told from four intertwining points of view--two boys and two girls--the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero). "Readers will be instantly engrossed in this relatable neighborhood adventure and its eclectic cast of misfits."--Booklist

In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so he can concentrate on basketball. They aren't friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find missing Virgil. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia. "Readers across the board will flock to this book that has something for nearly everyone--humor, bullying, self-acceptance, cross-generational relationships, and a smartly fateful ending."--School Library Journal

Publisher: New York, NY : Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2017]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9780062414151
Branch Call Number: J FIC Kelly
Characteristics: 313 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
bluehydrangea
Jul 11, 2017

I really enjoyed this story of friendship due to its strong characters, & the tales told by Lola, Virgil's Grandmother, which take on a life of their own!

AL_ALYX May 14, 2017

The character development is truly magical. I loved the universe motif. I thought this book started off relatively slow, but the plot picks up halfway through. The ending is certainly worth sticking around for. A delightful cast of characters, including main characters of color, one mc with a disability, and overall just a delightful cast of three dimensional characters. Highly recommend.

m
marthabwaters
Apr 17, 2017

A lovely, lovely middle grade novel about a bunch of misfit kids who serendipitously come together when one of them gets stuck in a well (insert Lassie joke here) and the others come to his rescue. This features a nicely diverse cast of characters and I really loved the ending. This wasn't, like, aggressively up in your face blaring its amazing-ness, and yet when I finished, I literally let out an audible happy sigh. So well done.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top