Now I Rise

Now I Rise

Unknown - 2017 | First edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
The highly anticipated, mind-blowing New York Times bestselling sequel to Kiersten White's New York Times bestseller, AND I DARKEN --the series that reads like HBO's Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire.

A SISTER FILLED WITH RAGE
Lada Dracul has no allies. No crown. All she has is what she's always had: herself. After failing to secure the Wallachian throne, Lada is out to punish anyone who dares cross her. She storms the countryside with her men, but brute force isn't getting Lada what she wants. And thinking of Mehmed, the defiant Ottoman sultan, brings little comfort to her thorny heart. There's no time to wonder whether he still thinks about her, even loves her. She left him before he could leave her.

HER BROTHER CAUGHT IN THE CROSSHAIRS
Lada needs the support of her diplomatic younger brother, Radu. But Mehmed has sent him to Constantinople--and it's no diplomatic mission. Mehmed wants control of the city, and Radu has earned an unwanted place as a double-crossing spy behind enemy lines. And for the first time in his life, when Lada asks him for help, he refuses . . . leading his sister to make the darkest of choices.

THE ULTIMATE POWER PLAY
Torn between loyalties to faith, to the Ottomans, and to Mehmed, Radu knows he owes Lada nothing. If she dies, he could never forgive himself--but if he fails in Constantinople, would Mehmed ever forgive him?

As nations fall around them, the Dracul siblings must decide: what will they sacrifice to fulfill their destinies? Empires will topple, thrones will be won . . . and souls will be lost.

Fans of Victoria Aveyard's THE RED QUEEN and Sabaa Tahir's A TORCH AGAINST THE NIGHT won't want to miss this riveting and gorgeously written novel--the second in the And I Darken series.


★ "Gorgeous, rich, and rewarding."--Booklist, starred review

★ "Absolutely devastating in the best way."--Kirkus, starred review

"A+, 5 knives."--Amie Kaufman, New York Times bestselling co-author of the STARBOUND and ILLUMINAE FILES trilogies

"Fierce, epic, and crazy fun."--Melissa Albert, New York Times bestselling author of THE HAZEL WOOD

A Teen Choice Book Award nominee!


Praise for And I Darken:

"A dark jewel of a story, one that gleams with fierce, cunning characters--absolutely riveting. " -- Alexandra Bracken, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Passenger

"A dark, gritty, and seriously badass epic that will have you dying for more . . . required reading for every feminist fantasy fan. " --BuzzFeed

"Evocative . . . this book takes no prisoners. " -- NPR
Publisher: New York : Delacorte Press, [2017]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9780553522358
Branch Call Number: YA FIC White
Characteristics: 470 pages : map ; 24 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
VaughanPLAlyssia Sep 05, 2017

I can’t decide if I like this one better than “And I Darken”. On the one hand, “And I Darken” was excellent until the plot revolved purely around how in love with Mehmed everyone is. And this book has far, far less Mehmed in it (a good thing). However I think the plot was a bit weaker in this sec... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

VaughanPLAlyssia Sep 05, 2017

I can’t decide if I like this one better than “And I Darken”. On the one hand, “And I Darken” was excellent until the plot revolved purely around how in love with Mehmed everyone is. And this book has far, far less Mehmed in it (a good thing). However I think the plot was a bit weaker in this second instalment; it really does feel like the middle book. Not sure where the story is going to go from here, but I’m invested enough in the characters that I want to find out. The characterization is this series’ strongest point, and it’s as well-done here as it was in the first book. Lada is as formidable and uncompromising as ever, and I really love that as a female character, she acknowledges her love for Mehmed but doesn’t let that stand in the way of her goals. Radu’s blind obsession with Mehmed continues to annoy me, but it leads to some interesting conflict when he’s sent away to Constantinople as a spy. Both siblings do terrible things—in the name of power and in the desire for love—but that’s what makes this series so captivating. The world building is also a series strong point, so much so that I feel a bit lost now that I’m not in that world anymore!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at VPL.

Try searching for Now I Rise to see if VPL owns related versions of the work.


Suggest for Purchase

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top