The Book of Mistakes

The Book of Mistakes

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
One eye was bigger than the other. That was a mistake. The weird cat-cow-frog thing? Well, it made an excellent bush. And the inky smudges . . . they look as though they were always meant to be leaves floating gently across the sky. As one artist incorporates accidental splotches, spots, and misshapen things into her art, she transforms her piece in quirky and unexpected ways, taking readers on a journey through her process. Told in minimal, playful text, this story shows readers that even the biggest omistakeso can be the source of the brightest ideas-and that, at the end of the day, we are all works in progress, too. Fans of Peter Reynolds's Ish and Patrick McDonnell's A Perfectly Messed-Up Story will love the funny, poignant, completely unique storytelling of The Book of Mistakes . And, like Oh, The Places You'll Go! , it makes the perfect graduation gift, encouraging readers to have a positive outlook as they learn to face life's obstacles.
Publisher: New York, NY : Dial Books for Young Readers, [2017]
ISBN: 9780735227927
Branch Call Number: JP Luyke
Characteristics: 1 volume (unpaged) : chiefly color illustrations ; 30 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Mariangela_S Sep 19, 2017

This book takes learning from our mistakes to a whole new level. One eyeball is a bit larger than the other. One arm is bent awkwardly and longer than the other. Ink smudge. A few mistakes combined with a lot of imagination lead to an action filled, series of illustrations and powerful message about individuality. Mistakes turn into opportunities to be creative.

a
AMDLibrary
Aug 16, 2017

Brilliant illustrations, incredible details with a gentle reminder that some mistakes are useful and help us to become more of what we are meant to be. But really, the illustrations are tremendous.

nmaryann Jun 26, 2017

This debut picture book is absolutely thought provoking and inspirational.

Luyken focuses her story on mistakes; the various smudges on the page that can be transformed into something remarkable. “The second frog-cat-cow thing made a very nice rock."

She encourages readers to creatively transform those ink blots and paint smears, and what they might view as "imperfections," on their own drawing pages into something special.

A must read.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top