Up From the Sea

Up From the Sea

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
A powerful novel-in-verse about how one teen boy survives the March 2011 tsunami that devastates his coastal Japanese village.

"Successfully captures the raw emotions of loss, grief, and what it means to move forward." --BuzzFeed

On the day the tsunami strikes, Kai loses nearly everyone and everything he cares about. But a trip to New York to meet kids whose lives were changed by 9/11 gives him new hope and the chance to look for his estranged American father. Visiting Ground Zero on its tenth anniversary, Kai learns that the only way to make something good come out of disaster is to return and rebuild.

Heartrending yet hopeful, Up from the Sea is a story about loss, survival, and starting anew.

Fans of Jewell Parker Rhodes's Ninth Ward and Karen Hesse's Out of the Dust will embrace this moving story. An author's note includes numerous sources detailing actual events portrayed in the story.

A BOOKRIOT 100 MUST-READ YA BOOKS WRITTEN IN VERSE
A NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY BEST BOOK FOR TEENS, 2016

" Up From the Sea touched me deeply with its beautiful message of hope and the resilience of humanity. Bravo." --Ellen Oh, author of the Prophecy series

"It is a moving story of the rebirth of hope in a teen who has lost almost everything. . . . Kai will resonate with teens on a simple human level, just as 3/11 resonates with 9/11." -- VOYA
Publisher: New York : Ember, 2017.
ISBN: 9780553534771
Branch Call Number: YA FIC Lowit
Characteristics: 251 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Told in free verse by a California girl, Leza Lowitz, who followed her love to Japan where they write books and run a Yoga studio.

Up from the Sea is teenaged Kai's story of the 2011 tsunami that devastates his sleepy coastal village, with little warning and unstoppable ferocity. So fast, so cold, so ruthless, tearing friends apart, drowning everything. And then it stops. But shock and grief have just begun. Kai searches for his friends, his mother, his grandparents. The community slowly knits back together, the survivors leaning on one another, renewing and recovering.

A short read but unforgettable.

Kris--Point Roberts

AL_CATHERINE Nov 01, 2016

A beautiful and heartbreaking look at how a natural disaster can destroy lives but also a beautiful tribute to the strength of community in helping to rebuild them. I was a little skeptical going in because I don't typically like the "crying" books but I loved this one!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top