The One-cent Magenta

The One-cent Magenta

Inside the Quest to Own the Most Valuable Stamp in the World

Book - 2017 | First edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
An inside look at the obsessive, secretive, and often bizarre world of high-profile stamp collecting, told through the journey of the world's most sought-after stamp.

When it was issued in 1856, it cost a penny. In 2014, this tiny square of faded red paper sold at Sotheby's for nearly $9.5 million, the largest amount ever paid for a postage stamp at auction. Through the stories of the eccentric characters who have bought, owned, and sold the one-cent magenta in the years in between, James Barron delivers a fascinating tale of global history and immense wealth, and of the human desire to collect.

One-cent magentas were provisional stamps, printed quickly in what was then British Guiana when a shipment of official stamps from London did not arrive. They were intended for periodicals, and most were thrown out with the newspapers. But one stamp survived. The singular one-cent magenta has had only nine owners since a twelve-year-old boy discovered it in 1873 as he sorted through papers in his uncle's house. He soon sold it for what would be $17 today. (That's been called the worst stamp deal in history.) Among later owners was a fabulously wealthy Frenchman who hid the stamp from almost everyone (even King George V of England couldn't get a peek); a businessman who traveled with the stamp in a briefcase he handcuffed to his wrist; and John E. du Pont, an heir to the chemical fortune, who died while serving a thirty-year sentence for the murder of Olympic wrestler Dave Schultz.

Recommended for fans of Nicholas A. Basbanes, Susan Orlean, and Simon Winchester, The One-Cent Magenta explores the intersection of obsessive pursuits and great affluence and asks why we want most what is most rare.
Publisher: Chapel Hill, North Carolina : Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, [2017]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9781616205188
Branch Call Number: 769.569881 Bar
Characteristics: 276 pages ; 19 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
legadillo
Feb 22, 2018

Hard to believe a tiny square of beat-up paper can be worth so much.

s
secondhandrose
Aug 08, 2017

I loved this book. A bit of history, a bit of mystery, some biography and some travel. I devoured this in a couple of hours. Great book!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at VPL.

Try searching for The One-cent Magenta to see if VPL owns related versions of the work.


Suggest for Purchase

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top