Busman's Honeymoon

Busman's Honeymoon

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:

The thirteenth book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, i ntroduced by crime writer Natasha Cooper - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries .

They plan to have a quiet country honeymoon. Then Lord Peter Wimsey and his bride Harriet Vane find the previous owner's body in the cellar.

Set in a country village seething with secrets and snobbery, this is Dorothy L. Sayers' last full-length detective novel. Variously described as a love story with detective interruptions and a detective story with romantic interruptions, it lives up to both descriptions with style.

'She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.' P. D. James

Publisher: London : Hodder, 2016.
Copyright Date: ©1937
ISBN: 9781473621411
Branch Call Number: FIC Sayer
Characteristics: 451 pages ; 20 cm
Additional Contributors: Cooper, Natasha 1951-

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

d
diannehildebrand
Jan 02, 2018

Wonderful mystery by Dorothy L. Sayers first published in 1937. The book begins with the wedding of detective Lord Peter Whimsey and Harriet Vane, two very literary forty-somethings. Part of the great fun of the book, besides solving the mystery, is that they're constantly quoting from the classics to enhance almost every situation, and a few of the other characters join them in this truly entertaining pastime. Peter is like Sherlock Holmes - a flawed character (shy, shell-shocked from the war) but inherently good and very appealing.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
VPL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top