Dangerous and Unseemly

Dangerous and Unseemly

A Concordia Wells Mystery, Book One / Volume 1

eBook - 2013
Rate this:
An unseemly lesson...in murder. The year is 1896, and college professor Concordia Wells has her hands full: teaching classes, acting as live-in chaperone to a cottage of lively female students, and directing the student play, Macbeth. But mystery and murder are not confined to the stage, especially when the death of Concordia's sister, Mary, appears to be foul play. To make matters worse, the women's college is plagued by malicious pranks, arson, money troubles, and the apparent suicide of a college official. With her beloved school facing certain ruin, Concordia knows that she must act. As she struggles to seek justice for her sister and discover who is behind the college incidents, there are some closest to Concordia who do not appreciate the unseemly inquiries and bold actions of the young lady professor. Can she discover who is responsible...before she becomes the next target? Absorbing in its memorable characters, non-stop plot twists, and depiction of life in a late-nineteenth century women's college, Dangerous and Unseemly is a suspenseful and engaging contribution to the cozy historical mystery genre. Fans of Harriet Vane and Maisie Dobbs will find in Concordia Wells a new heroine to fall in love with. "The exquisitely plotted mystery will keep you turning the pages well into the night, and the richness of the world will keep you thinking about the story long after you put it down." Janice Hamrick, award-winning author of Death Makes the Cut "What a perfectly enjoyable debut The author seamlessly works in the finely wrought historical details that make the reader feel totally at home. ...truly a delight to read. I'll definitely be awaiting more adventures of the intrepid Miss Wells." Martha Powers, award winning author of Conspiracy of Silence and Death Angel
Publisher: [sine loco] : D.G.L.M., 2013.
ISBN: 9780988997400
0988997401
Characteristics: data file
1 online resource (328 pages)
Additional Contributors: BiblioLabs

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top