The Seventh Most Important Thing

The Seventh Most Important Thing

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
This "luminescent" ( Kirkus Reviews ) story of anger and art, loss and redemption will appeal to fans of Lisa Graff's Lost in the Sun and Vince Vawter's Paperboy.

NOMINATED FOR 16 STATE AWARDS!
AN ALA NOTABLE BOOK
AN ILA TEACHERS CHOICE
A KIRKUS REVIEWS BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR

Arthur T. Owens grabbed a brick and hurled it at the trash picker. Arthur had his reasons, and the brick hit the Junk Man in the arm, not the head. But none of that matters to the judge--he is ready to send Arthur to juvie forever. Amazingly, it's the Junk Man himself who offers an alternative: 120 hours of community service . . . working for him.

Arthur is given a rickety shopping cart and a list of the Seven Most Important Things: glass bottles, foil, cardboard, pieces of wood, lightbulbs, coffee cans, and mirrors. He can't believe it--is he really supposed to rummage through people's trash? But it isn't long before Arthur realizes there's more to the Junk Man than meets the eye, and the "trash" he's collecting is being transformed into something more precious than anyone could imagine. . . .

Inspired by the work of folk artist James Hampton, Shelley Pearsall has crafted an affecting and redemptive novel about discovering what shines within us all, even when life seems full of darkness.

"A moving exploration of how there is often so much more than meets the eye." -- Booklist, starred review

"There are so many things to love about this book. Remarkable. " -- The Christian Science Monitor
Publisher: New York : Yearling, 2016.
ISBN: 9780553497311
Branch Call Number: J FIC Pears
Characteristics: 278 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
rosebud2112
Jun 28, 2016

Interesting fictionalized account of an actual piece of artwork.

w
wmtlady
Jan 25, 2016

Excellently written from a young teen boy's perspective. I was especially delighted to find that the story is spun around the real existence of James Hampton and his actual creation that has been saved and displayed by the Smithsonian. I am thinking of buying this for my grandson.

outstanding novel. upper el/tween. about justice and struggling through grief, about acceptance and outsider art. Not at all whatever you are expecting.
~Rose

t
tdollar
Jan 11, 2016

I thought it was a very easy read with a lack of advanced vocabulary. Being said, the plot was very captivating and it was a good book.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top