Wintersong

Wintersong

Book - 2017 | First edition.
Average Rating:
8
1
Rate this:

" Wintersong is a maze of beauty and darkness, of music and magic and glittering things, all tied together with exquisite writing. This is a world you will want to stay lost in." --Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Dark, romantic, and unforgettable, Wintersong is an enchanting coming-of-age story for fans of Labyrinth and Beauty and the Beast .


The last night of the year. Now the days of winter begin and the Goblin King rides abroad, searching for his bride...

All her life, Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, dangerous Goblin King. They've enraptured her mind, her spirit, and inspired her musical compositions. Now eighteen and helping to run her family's inn, Liesl can't help but feel that her musical dreams and childhood fantasies are slipping away .

But when her own sister is taken by the Goblin King, Liesl has no choice but to journey to the Underground to save her. Drawn to the strange, captivating world she finds--and the mysterious man who rules it--she soon faces an impossible decision. And with time and the old laws working against her, Liesl must discover who she truly is before her fate is sealed.

Rich with music and magic, S. Jae-Jones's Wintersong will sweep you away into a world you won't soon forget.

"This was Labyrinth by way of Angela Carter. Deliciously romantic, with a nuanced Goblin King and a strong heroine, this story was rife with fairy tales, music, and enchantment." --Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen

Publisher: New York : Thomas Dunne Books/St Martin's Press, 2017.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9781250079213
Branch Call Number: YA FIC JaeJo
Characteristics: 436 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion


Featured Blogs and Events

Week of Geek: 2017 YA Books For You To Squeal Over

The geeky and otherwise YA books I'm excited about for 2017. (more)


From Library Staff

Comment
VaughanPLAlison Apr 18, 2017

One of the best YA books I've read in a while. It's well-written, romantic, rich and has a heroine you'll be rooting for. And you'll totally picture David Bowie in this ;)


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

kelly_williams Jul 23, 2017

This book wasn't what I expected; and then it changed gears, and still wasn't what I expected; and then changed AGAIN and STILL left me surprised! I absolutely love it when books can surprise me- I dread being able to guess the ending. The Goblin King is such a great flawed hero, and the heroine is flawed herself, in unexpected ways. I can see why it's made the Banned Book List a few times. I'll read it again!

GCPL_Teen Jul 23, 2017

I wasn't the biggest fan of this book. Its gotten some amazing reviews elsewhere, and lots of readers have LOVED this title, but it wasn't really for me. For starters, it read and felt more like an adult book, than a young adult one.

The book follows Elizabeth, a girl with the dreams of being a composer, but who has to give up this dream to keep the world from dying. She does this by becoming the Goblin King's bride--but as she spends time with the Goblin King, she realizes the cost to save the world might be higher than she's willing to pay.

It's an interest book, with very descriptive writing. Its VERY VERY heavy on the romance. Almost to the point of gagging. It's also VERY heavy on content that revolves around sex. While nothing is outright inappropriate for a young adult, I would advise readers to at least be aware that this book does have sex in it.

I certainly wouldn't mark this title a must read, but I did finish it.

n
nidofito
May 31, 2017

DNF 71%

Ok, look. I can take the terrible protag, the hateful family dynamics, the ridiculous and utterly boring love interest, the melodrama, and the contemporary language, but I need it all to have a point.

Halfway through the book, there was an objective, a mission. But after Liesl's 'sacrifice,' there is literally NOTHING going on. Both Liesl and The Goblin King are so tormented, crying buckets of tears while making out, and here I am with no f**king clue what is it that hurts them so.

I am so done with this ridiculous story. Readers, you probably have better books on your shelf to read.

r
Rebole
Apr 20, 2017

I absolutely adored this book. I fell in love with it from the first page. It's so beautiful. It has this haunting eerie melody aura to it that you don't want to stop. It just makes my heart ache for more. I wish there was more!
I've seen a few reviews that compares this book to Labyrinth (which I haven't heard of, should I be ashamed?) For me, it reminded me a bit of the myths of Persephone.

VaughanPLAlison Apr 18, 2017

One of the best YA books I've read in a while. It's well-written, romantic, rich and has a heroine you'll be rooting for. And you'll totally picture David Bowie in this ;)

AL_KELSEY Mar 27, 2017

This is a beautifully dark romance molded together with enchanting music and a forbidden love. The first 250 pages of the book had me hooked. However, there's a change in the story, and I just can't get past the idea of a woman becoming a strong, independent woman capable of standing on her own two feet and accomplishing her life goals when, and only when, she gives herself to a man. As much as I loved the Goblin King, and as strongly-written as Liesl's character was, I had a really hard time dealing with second half of the story. This is beautiful fantasy for those who love fantasy, but make sure to keep in mind the strength of a girl without a boy.

7
7Swans
Mar 04, 2017

If it wasn't for the historical setting and details, I would have rated this book lower.
Pros: The world-building and music set it apart from the usual "girl falls in love with hot, dangerous non-human."
Cons: Unfortunately, it ultimately fell into the same tropes of instalove where the love interest has a split personality of violent/dangerous creature vs goodhearted/kind person and he has to withhold sex for her own good. Ugh. The ending is somewhat open ended and may be setting up for a series.

This book was a mix of Labyrinth (yay) and Cruel Beauty (not a good thing, imo). The Hollow Kingdom series does the goblin king bride story in a better way without the cons.

b
bookycakes
Feb 16, 2017

I've tried to trim down my thoughts (and make them a little less heated) and came up with this:

I am not the reader for this type of novel. I like the premise a lot, and I thought the beginning was great- lyrical writing, mystery, a little bit of spookiness- but it fell flat for me SO fast afterward. I lost track of how many times Liesl told us that she was 'plain,' 'invisible,' 'the ugly one with no talent' in the first three chapters. But then- THEN!- this 'tall, elegant stranger,' the 'austere young man,' (lost track of how many times those two phrases were used through the course of the book, too) is MAGICALLY in love with her because of COURSE she THINKS she's plain, but NO NO, THE BEAUTY INSIDE HER IS REAL AND ENCHANTS THE GOBLIN KING (who doesn't have a different name, apparently, thus the TES and AYM descriptors tossed in among "The Goblin King" this and "The Goblin King" that. You would think she would have come up with a nickname.

Liesl struck me as very cold and foolish at the start of the novel, but she only advanced to warm and foolish by the end of the novel.

Once I finished, I realized that this was the type of book I never should have picked up. There was virtually no plot once she went to the Underground, and I learned WAY too much about the way the Goblin King's fluffy hair was somehow elegant and how Liesl was just so amazed by how he possibly loved her and was a good person because of her music. BUT REMEMBER, she isn't pretty or experienced and NO ONE loves her and she cannot ever be happy, okay? We NEVER are allowed to think she's beautiful. Please. I'm so tired of that.

Overall, I thought it was blah. It's not my kind of book, and I guess this is what I get for trying another ultra-hyped book. I'm glad everyone else loves it, though! #BaaBaaI'mABlackSheep

Notices

Add Notices

GCPL_Teen Jul 23, 2017

Sexual Content: There is no explicit sexual content, but this book certainly talks a LOT about sex, and has a fair amount of sex in it.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top