The Cottage in the Woods

The Cottage in the Woods

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
2
1
Rate this:
For fans of Shannon Hale, Adam Gidwitz, and Michael Buckley comes a luminous new twist on a tale readers only thought they knew. . .

Once upon a time, there was a girl with golden locks. But that's just the beginning of this tale. The real story begins with a bear.

Ursula is a young she-bear who has come to work as a governess at the Vaughn estate. Although she is eager to instruct her young charge, Teddy, she is also frightened, especially when inexplicable things happen in the huge house after dark. Ursula is sure she has heard footsteps in the hallways at night, and that something is following her during her walks in the Enchanted Forest. Then there is Mr. Bentley, a young bear also employed by Mr. Vaughn, whose superior disposition is enough to drive Ursula to tears . . . and yet why does he also make her heart race? As Ursula works to unravel the mysteries of the Vaughn manor, she will have to be very, very careful. After all, true love, justice, and a girl with golden locks are at stake. And in the Enchanted Forest, not every fairy tale is destined for a happily ever after.
Audience: 010+.
Publisher: New York : Yearling, 2016.
ISBN: 9780385755764
Branch Call Number: J FIC Covill
Characteristics: 391 pages ; 19 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

f
figuresk8
Aug 25, 2017

This book is soooo wonderful, I would reccomend it to anyone! A heartwrenching tale full of mysterious twists and turns with a happy ending! I loved this book so much!!😍

n
nnickelle
Apr 29, 2016

I can't recommend this book highly enough. It will be more of an interesting read if you are familiar with Jane Austen's writings of unfortunate love and attractions between differing classes. Without that experience, this book is still so entertaining with many different vital relationships interplaying with each other for their own themes and struggles. The characters are bears and this is a revamp of a fairy tale, and an interesting one indeed!

Imagine, Jane Eyre mixed with the story feel of The Secret Garden!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

f
figuresk8
Aug 25, 2017

figuresk8 thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top