Finding Myself on Top of the World

Book - 2017 | First Canadian edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:

In the tradition of Wild and Eat, Pray, Love comes an epic, inspiring new story about one woman's triumph of spirit as she follows winter across five continents

Steph Jagger had seen the ski-lift sign thousands of times--Raise Restraining Device, it read--but one day she took it personally as a rallying cry to shake off the life she had for the life she wanted. She had always been a force of nature, so why was she still holding herself back? Dissatisfied with the passive, limited roles she had seen for women when she was growing up, Steph emulated the men in her life--chasing success, climbing the corporate ladder, ticking the boxes, playing by the rules. She was accomplished. She was living The Dream. But it wasn't her dream.

The sign became her mantra. Steph walked away from the success and security she had worked long and hard to obtain. She quit her job, took a second mortgage on her house, sold everything except her ski equipment and her laptop and bought a plane ticket. For the next year, she followed winter across five continents on a mission to break the world record for most vertical feet skied in a year--four million. What hiking was for Cheryl Strayed, skiing became for Steph: a crucible in which to crack open her life and melt it down to its very elements.

Electrifying, heartfelt and full of humour, Unbound is Steph's story--an odyssey of courage and self-discovery that, like Wild and Eat, Pray, Love, will inspire readers to remove their own restraining devices and pursue the life they are meant to lead.

Publisher: Toronto, Ontario : HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, [2017]
Edition: First Canadian edition.
ISBN: 9781443446587
Branch Call Number: 796.93092 Jagge
Characteristics: 290 pages ; 24 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Nov 04, 2017

This is a surprisingly interesting memoir of a very ambitious woman on the goal of becoming good at skiing. Risking what most people wouldn't even dream of doing, by quitting her job, and traveling around the world to ski 4 million vertical in a year, she is someone who would be defined as successful by many. I really like this book because it has the right amount of humor and aspiring goals for other people to follow, and personally I think the author is incredibly brave for pursuing such a risky dream. I could relate to it a lot and would highly recommend it for people who are feeling lost on what they should do.
- @Florence of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

Jul 25, 2017

DebbieKnowles thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at VPL

To Top