One Day We'll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter

One Day We'll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter

Unknown - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
**National Bestseller
**A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice
**A Globe and Mail Best Book of 2017
**A National Post Best Book of 2017
**A CBC Best Book of 2017
**An Amazon Best Book of 2017
**A Popsugar Best Book of 2017
**A Kobo Best Book of 2017
**An NPR Best Book of 2017
**A Chatelaine Best Book of 2017
**A Buzzfeed Best Book of 2017
**A Book Riot Best Book of 2017
**A Chicago Review of Books Best Book of 2017
**A Paste Best Book of 2017
**An Amazon Best Humour and Entertainment Book of 2017
**Finalist for the 2018 Kobo Emerging Writer Prize
**Finalist for the 2018 Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour
**Nominated for the 2017 Goodreads Choice Award


For readers of Mindy Kaling, Jenny Lawson and Roxane Gay, a debut collection of fierce and funny essays about growing up the daughter of Indian immigrants in Canada, "a land of ice and casual racism," by the irreverent, hilarious cultural observer and incomparable rising star, Scaachi Koul.

In One Day We'll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter , Scaachi deploys her razor-sharp humour to share her fears, outrages and mortifying experiences as an outsider growing up in Canada. Her subjects range from shaving her knuckles in grade school, to a shopping trip gone horribly awry, to dealing with internet trolls, to feeling out of place at an Indian wedding (as an Indian woman), to parsing the trajectory of fears and anxieties that pressed upon her immigrant parents and bled down a generation. Alongside these personal stories are pointed observations about life as a woman of colour, where every aspect of her appearance is open for critique, derision or outright scorn. Where strict gender rules bind in both Western and Indian cultures, forcing her to confront questions about gender dynamics, racial tensions, ethnic stereotypes and her father's creeping mortality--all as she tries to find her feet in the world.
With a clear eye and biting wit, Scaachi Koul explores the absurdity of a life steeped in misery. And through these intimate, wise and laugh-out-loud funny dispatches, a portrait of a bright new literary voice emerges.
Publisher: [Toronto] : Doubleday Canada, [2017]
ISBN: 9780385685351
Branch Call Number: 971.00491411 Koul
Characteristics: 241 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at VPL.

Try searching for One Day We'll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter to see if VPL owns related versions of the work.


Suggest for Purchase

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top