The Marriage Bureau

The Marriage Bureau

True Stories of 1940s London Match-makers

Book - 2016 | First Canadian edition.
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:

For fans of Call the Midwife and Downton Abbey, a charming and vivid portrait of the business of match-making in 1940s London, England

In the spring of 1939, with the Second World War looming, two determined twenty-four-year-olds, Heather Jenner and Mary Oliver, decided to open a marriage bureau. They found a tiny office on London's Bond Street and set about the delicate business of match-making. Drawing on the bureau's extensive archives, author Penrose Halson--who many years later found herself the proprietor of the bureau--tells Heather and Mary's story, and the stories of their clients. We meet a remarkable cross-section of British society in the 1940s: gents with a "merry twinkle," potential fifth-columnists, nervous spinsters, isolated farmers seeking "a nice quiet affekshunate girl" and girls looking "exactly" like Greta Garbo and Vivien Leigh, all desperately longing to find The One. And thanks to Heather and Mary, they almost always did just that.

A riveting glimpse of life and love during and after the war, The Marriage Bureau--which is in development for television--is not only a heart-warming and absorbing account of a world gone by, but also touches upon timeless themes. "Be it 1946 or 2016, we still worry about money, ailing parents, loneliness and finding someone to love." (Daily Mail [UK])

Publisher: Toronto, Ontario : HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, [2016]
Edition: First Canadian edition.
Copyright Date: ©2016
ISBN: 9781443451420
Branch Call Number: 306.73094212 Hal
Characteristics: 359 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
breemu
Oct 20, 2017

A fun read with a real taste of England's pluck and fortitude during the war. And lonely singles take heart - there really does seem to be a certain someone for almost everyone!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top