Secrets of A Summer Night

Secrets of A Summer Night

eBook
Average Rating:
10
Rate this:
Publisher: New York : Avon Books
Copyright Date: ©2004
Characteristics: text file
1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

bwortman Dec 07, 2016

I enjoyed this historical romance thoroughly. Kleypas sets up a lovely premise with the four wallflowers working together to snag a husband in the difficult market of the early Victorian era. Watching Annabelle and Simon's relationship develop is a thorough delight and the denouement was actually a surprise for me as the final conflict was not what I had anticipated. I'll be picking up the other books in this series and Kleypas has made my list of authors to pick up when I'm in the mood for a historical romance.

m
marthabwaters
Nov 24, 2015

This is an excellent series-opening romance, focusing on four wallflowers who make a pact to help each other attract husbands. Annabelle Peyton is the heroine of this first installment, and the story of her romance with a wealthy man of common birth is unusually astute when it comes to social issues and the ways that the world of the aristocracy was changing in the face of industrialism in the mid-19th century. But beyond that, it's also just a really fun book! There's lots of witty banter and humor, and the hero and heroine are exceedingly well-matched. Highly recommended for fans of Julia Quinn and Eloisa James, though this setting of this one is a bit later than theirs.

booklady1 Jan 12, 2013

Superbly written and well paced,this book thoroughly entertains as It follows the escapades of the wallflowers young ladys...has they make way In upper-crust london society...funny! with a bit of mayhem, humor, and enough sensuality to please all of us readers, I love It!!!

s
Sarah1984
May 13, 2012

Really enjoyed this first in a four-part series. I liked the tension and fun between Annabelle and Simon and I also liked the personalities of the other girls, especially the American debutantes Lilian and Daisy, who seem fiery and good heroines for future books in the series.

mark445 Dec 13, 2011

Great series

j
JensieCrazyCatLady
Dec 08, 2011

I just read this, book one in the wallflowers series. Loved it! It is the first romance novel I've ever read and now i'm hooked! Just about to begin book 2, Autumn.

k
kclynn89
Jul 15, 2011

The wallflower series is amazing!

b
bronwynp
Jun 11, 2011

very good historical romance. Very well written.

t
thompson4some
Jul 25, 2010

book 1

erysimum Nov 04, 2009

Many romance novels only have one main female character, and any other women who appear are irrelevant or evil. Lisa Kleypas starts off this series by introducing 4 women who are all friends and want to help each other! It's great to see a romance that addresses the many kinds of relationships that are important.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top