Jubilee

Jubilee

Book - 2016 | First Edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
1
Newbery Honor-winning author Patricia Reilly Giff writes a tender, timeless story about a girl who stopped speaking long ago, and how she finds her way back to her voice. For fans of Listening for Lucca, Fish in a Tree, The Rules, and Mockingbird .

Judith lives with her beloved aunt Cora and her faithful Dog on a beautiful island. Years ago, when her mother left, Judith stopped talking. Now she communicates entirely through gestures and taps, and by drawing cartoons, speaking only when she's alone--or with Dog.

This year, Judith faces a big change--leaving her small, special classroom for a regular fifth-grade class. She likes her new teacher, and finds a maybe-friend in a boy named Mason. But Jubilee's wandering feet won't stop until they find her mother. And now she discovers that her mother has moved back to the mainland, nearby. If Jubilee finds her, will her mother's love be what she needs to speak again?

Judith's cartoons, sprinkled throughout, add lightness and humor.


ILA-CBC Choices Reading Lists, Children's Choices
Selected for the Kansas NEA Reading Circle Catalog
Publisher: New York : Wendy Lamb Books, [2016]
Edition: First Edition.
Copyright Date: ©2016
ISBN: 9780385744867
Branch Call Number: J FIC Giff
Characteristics: 149 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

a
AlieGrace
Apr 20, 2018

Nothing felt particularly intriguing or special about this story, its a quick read and decently written but I would still skip it. There are much better books out there for kids about island life, anxiety issues, and basically any other theme that this book touches on.

n
nelljean
Dec 06, 2017

Different type of story and very easy read; flows well. I would recommend it.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

a
AlieGrace
Apr 20, 2018

AlieGrace thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 7 and 13

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top