The Rains

The Rains

Book - 2016 | First edition.
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:

"A brilliant, terrifying, rule-breaking reimagining of the zombie novel."--Jonathan Maberry, New York Times bestselling author of Rot & Ruin

"One of those all-too-creepy-and-believable stories. Chilling!"--Ridley Pearson, New York Times bestselling author

"Readers with a 5th Wave -shaped hole in their sf-loving hearts will rejoice."-- Booklist

"In his first book for teens, Hurwitz crafts a tense, disturbing tale that's simultaneously a story driven by brother love and the determination to survive against impossible odds."-- Publishers Weekly

From the New York Times bestselling author of Orphan X and comics in the Batman , Wolverine , and Punisher universes comes this relentlessly thrilling adventure perfect for fans of The Walking Dead and The 5th Wave . A Hollywood screenwriter, developer, and producer ( V , The Book of Henry , Black Flags ), Gregg Hurwitz brings his cinematic flair to this suspenseful new tale.

In one terrifying night, the peaceful community of Creek's Cause turns into a war zone. No one under the age of eighteen is safe. Chance Rain and his older brother, Patrick, have already fended off multiple attacks from infected adults by the time they arrive at the school where other young survivors are hiding.

Most of the kids they know have been dragged away by once-trusted adults who are now ferocious, inhuman beings. The parasite that transformed them takes hold after people turn eighteen--and Patrick's birthday is only a few days away.

Determined to save Patrick's life and the lives of the remaining kids, the brothers embark on a mission to uncover the truth about the parasites--and what they find is horrifying. Battling an enemy not of this earth, Chance and Patrick become humanity's only hope for salvation.

Publisher: New York : Tor Teen, 2016.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780765382672
Branch Call Number: YA FIC Hurwi
Characteristics: 352 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

GCPL_Teen Jun 29, 2017

This book is exciting and fast-paced! The zombies are not your typical stumbling flesh-eaters. The only negative aspect is that the book seems to end too soon, and we are left without resolution for some plot points. It certainly seems like this book will have a sequel though!

THE RAINS by Gregg Hurwitz is an amazing, brilliant, fantastic, incredible, addictive, haunted and terrifying book. It is a book about fearsome exploration of survival on Earth. It is one of the best books that I have ever read. It has now become my most most favourite book.
The Rains is a book about a peaceful and a happy community of Creek’s Clause which turned into a war zone between the infected hosts, or in other words all people above the age of 18, and the children below 18 years of age, in one terrifying night. No one under the age of 18 is safe. Chance Rain and his brother, Patrick, have already fended off multiple attacks from the infected adults. In order to save Patrick and other kids’ lives, the brothers embark on the mission to uncover the truth about the parasites, and what they find is horrifying. In the end, Chance and Patrick become the only hope to save the planet, Earth, from the enemies that are not of this planet. For this, they have to stay alive but the Drones are looking for them to kill them. It a horrifying and a thrilling book with a lot of adventures.
I love this book a lot. I wish it was a never ending book. Even though nothing can happen like this in our real lives, as it happened in the book, but I really enjoyed this book. I actually liked the story of the book a lot. I can never forget this book. I wish there is second part of the book too; because I want to know what happened next. Are Patrick and Alex alive? If so, where did they go leaving Chance behind? Did they save the Earth?
The setting and the plot of the novel is really very nice and wonderful. There is a lot of imagery and fear in the book. There is a lot of suspense too, which I like the most. There is conflict, too. This book is just perfect.
I think everyone would like this book. It is a really very good novel. My rating for this book is: HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

j
joywolf83
Feb 20, 2017

It lives up to the hype. If you remotely liked Maze Runner, you'll passionately LOVE this book. Highly recommend. Couple of stupid, completely idiotic moments but you can kinda forgive it cuz its clear they're kids. A very weird love triangle with brothers liking the same girl. Very dramatic in general and high tension. Stay away from spoilers. This is a series of who knows how many books, but its a fair "Book 1". Answers quite a few questions while raising new ones. Connects you to characters without having too many of them. Intriguing ending that does make you want to read the next one. Not too long and you need all the information. You can definitely tell this author writes for TV shows 350 pages.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top