Birds Art Life

Birds Art Life

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
"For fans of When Breath Becomes Air and H is for Hawk, an elegant and exuberant memoir about a year of bird-watching, reflection and art -- a field guide to things small and significant. For Vladimir Nabokov, it was butterflies. For John Cage, it was mushrooms. For Sylvia Plath, it was bees. Each of these artists took time away from their work to become observers of natural phenomena. In 2012, Kyo Maclear met a local Toronto musician with an equally captivating side passion -- he had recently lost his heart to birds. Curious about what prompted this young urban artist to suddenly embrace nature, Kyo decides to follow him for a year and find out. Intimate and philosophical, moving with ease between the granular and the grand view, this memoir is an unconventional field guide that celebrates the particular madness of loving and chasing after birds in a big city. It celebrates the creative and liberating effects of keeping your eyes and ears wide open, and explores what happens when you apply the core lessons of birding to other aspects of life. In one sense, this is a book about disconnection -- how our passions can buckle under the demands and emotions of daily life -- and about reconnection: how our distractions can also sustain us. On a deeper level, it takes up the questions of how we are shaped and nurtured by our parallel passions, and how we might come to love (and protect) not only the world's pristine natural places but also the blemished urban spaces where most of us live. Birds art life follows two artists on a year long adventure"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: Toronto : Doubleday Canada, [2017]
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9780385687515
Branch Call Number: 598.07234713541 Macl
Characteristics: 259 pages ; 20 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
Rower64
Feb 28, 2017

This author is way too needy, it's basically a self help book.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top