The Case of the Missing Moonstone

The Case of the Missing Moonstone

Book - 2016 | First Yearling edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
1
1
 …
History, mystery, and science collide in a new series for middle-grade readers, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Lemony Snicket!

Jordan Stratford imagines an alternate 1826, where Ada Lovelace (the world's first computer programmer) and Mary Shelley (author of Frankenstein ) meet as girls and form a secret detective agency!

Lady Ada Byron, age eleven, is a genius. Isolated, awkward and a bit rude--but a genius. Mary Godwin, age fourteen, is a romantic. Adventurous, astute, and kind, Mary is to become Ada's first true friend. And together, the girls conspire to form the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency--a secret constabulary for the apprehension of clever criminals. Their first case involves a stolen heirloom, a false confession, and an array of fishy suspects. But it's no match for the deductive powers and bold hearts of Ada and Mary.

Mystery fans will love this tween girl riff on Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. History buffs will be delighted to see all the real figures who play a role in this story and appreciate the extensive backmatter that helps separate truth from fiction. Parents and educators hoping to promote the STEM fields for girls will be thrilled to have a series where two girls use math, science, and creative analytical thinking to solve crimes. But most especially--emerging readers will love this series filled with humor, action, intrigue and wonderful artwork from Kelly Murphy.
Publisher: New York : Yearling, [2016]
Edition: First Yearling edition.
Copyright Date: ©2015
ISBN: 9780385754408
038575440X
9780385754439
Branch Call Number: J FIC Strat
Characteristics: 219 pages : illustrations ; 20 cm.
Additional Contributors: Murphy, Kelly 1977-- Illustrator
Alternative Title: Missing moonstone

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

megan_b Feb 10, 2016

I was reminded of Sherlock, the T.V. show, in the characterization of Ada Lovelace. It was a very enjoyable read, Ada and Mary play off each other and complement each other rather well. I look forward to the next book!

samdog123 Nov 10, 2015

Great first book in a new mystery series! I love the premise of Ada Byron, daughter of the famous poet and Mary Godwin, the future Mary Shelley, being partners in a 19th century Detective agency! In a time where women had very few opportunities, the author has these clever girls involves in a terrific adventure, using their wits and brains to help them along. Looking forward to the next in the series.

l
littlemoneky998
Jun 10, 2015

The book is based on real people, but is fiction. It had a great deal of history and a good mystery. It was based on a mystery from the first mystery novel.

Hardystock Apr 03, 2015

The book was about two girls named Ada Byron and Mary Godwin. They both became best friends, and then started a detective agency. I liked this book because it was a detective book. Thank you. Sonya (age 8).

JCLJoshN Feb 23, 2015

Jordan Stratford has taken a neat idea--young Mary Shelley and young Ada Lovelace team up to solve mysteries--and crafted an adventure story that's so much fun, it threatens to burst out of the book jacket and shoot off the pages like a cannon ball.

The year is 1826. 14-year-old Mary Godwin, the sensitive and curious daughter of feminist Mary Wollstonecraft and free thinker William Godwin, is beginning her tutelage alongside the brilliant but temperamental and eccentric 11-year-old Lady Ada Byron, daughter of the famous poet Lord Byron. Their tutor is the young, handsome Peebs, who is clearly hiding something about his past. When the girls get restless, stifled by the limited avenues available to the women of the time, they decide to put their minds to work by forming a detective agency, enlisting the aid of an enigmatic boy, Charles. They're soon contacted by their first client, a young woman looking to clear the name of her maid, who has confessed to a crime she didn't commit, and Mary and Ada are plunged head first into a fast-paced, thrilling mystery.

Stratford gleefully plays with the cliches and tropes of Victorian thrillers and adventures, while confronting the sexism of the time and giving today's girls (and boys) a pair of inspirational role models. Stratford's not above tweaking history for the sake of a good story while also providing notes on what really happened at the time, and stew of historical and literary allusions will hopefully turn children on to the poetry of Lord Byron and Percy Bysshe Shelley, the novels of Mary Shelley, Charles Dickens, and Wilkie Collins, mathematics, computer programming, engineering, and history.

This is the first Wollstonecraft Detective Agency book, with a second on the way. Let's hope there are many more to come.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

l
littlemoneky998
Jun 10, 2015

littlemoneky998 thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

l
littlemoneky998
Jun 10, 2015

The main character's are kind of eccentric and different. They give the book a wonderful and rich feel.

Quotes

Add a Quote

l
littlemoneky998
Jun 10, 2015

"Can we come in" Ada

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top