The Sisters

The Sisters

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
'Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train' Marie ClaireFrom the author of Sunday Times bestseller, Local Girl MissingOne lied. One died. When one sister dies, the other must go to desperate lengths to survive After a tragic accident, still haunted by her twin sister's death, Abi is making a fresh start in Bath. But when she meets siblings Bea and Ben, she is quickly drawn into their privileged and unsettling circle. When one sister lies, she must protect her secret at all costs As Abi tries to keep up with the demands of her fickle friends, strange things start to happen - precious letters go missing and threatening messages are left in her room. Is this the work of the beautiful and capricious Bea? Or is Abi willing to go to any lengths to get attention? When the truth outs, will either sister survive?
Publisher: London : Harper, [2015]
Copyright Date: ©2015
ISBN: 9780007594412
Branch Call Number: FIC Dougl
Characteristics: 363 pages ; 20 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
m
mynovelesquelife
Jun 13, 2019

Sooooo, here is my confession: I judge books by their covers. I picked up The Sisters by Claire Douglas based on the cover and tag line. It was set in Britain so I was eagerly awaiting to read this book in one shot. Two days later...

RATING: 2 STARS
2015 (UK) 2016 (North America); Harper Collins

​​After the loss of her twin sister, Abi has moved to Bath to be closer to her parents. One day she meets Bea, who looks a lot like her sister Lucy and her. Bea invites her to a art opening at her home and they quickly become friends. At this art opening Abi meets Bea's twin brother, Ben. When one artist moves out of Bea and Ben's family home, Bea invites Abi to move in rent free. Abi soon finds herself falling for Ben which only begins to irk Bea. Soon Abi's letters from Lucy go missing, and she begins to get threatening messages. When Abi goes to Ben he sides with his sister and Abi doesn't know who to turn to and if she can get out alive.

If I see one more book with the review/tagline of "for fans of Gone Girl or The Girl on the Train" I am purposely going to not read it. So there. I had high hopes for this book. The synopsis sounded great and it being a British psychological thriller I couldn't wait till this book came up on my list. Sadly, this book did not live up to the hype. (It was chosen as a winner for Marie Claire fiction contest and Good Housekeeping also recommended it).

1. I didn't like the characters and so I had no one to root for and kind of felt like they deserve anything awful that happens (I know, that is mean - but they did say it was like Gone Girl so that was at least true!)

2. I am not sure why Abi didn't just leave...period. There was no incentive in my opinion to keep her there.

3. Where was the suspense??? And, the psychological thriller part??? The constant is she crazy or not was pretty obvious. It was easy to figure out what happened to Lucy...and the later "twists".

4. At times it felt like there was no editing involved. There were errors and at time rambling descriptions.

I gave this book a star because it is an easy read and I did finish it. I decided to give it another star because I felt bad that this book didn't even grab me at any point. I will not be reading any further books by this author.

***I received an eARC from EDELWEISS***

o
ownedbydoxies
Dec 03, 2017

Disappointing. I didn't finish, because I couldn't get a feel for any of the characters; they all seemed flimsy to me. Actually, I wondered if, because her other book (The Girl on the Train) was such a massive hit, she found herself rushed into writing a follow-up, but didn't have the time or energy or imagination to build a strong story-line with believable characters.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top