Imagine A City

Imagine A City

Book - 2016 | First American edition.
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
You are invited into a stunning and dreamlike voyage into the imagination--ideal for fans of Chris Van Allsburg and the Caldecott Honor Book Journey by Aaron Becker.
 
Imagine a world without edges . . . where bunnies and bears ride bicycles, lions read books, and buses are fish that fly through the clouds. In the city of imagination, anything is possible, and an outing with their mother brings a world of adventure to two lucky children.
 
With simple, evocative, rhyming text and page after page of unusual and mystical details to explore, this is a story that encourages readers to open their minds and dream of magical places filled with the unexpected. Enter a world of the past, present, and future, where wonders exist that we never thought possible. . . .

"Who could resist hanging out with gargoyles while sipping tea?"-- Kirkus

"Hurst's sweeping pen-and-ink illustrations suggest a combination of midtown Manhattan and Hogwarts. . . . [Her] engrossing mashups of the urban and the fantastical present no shortage of fuel for readers' own imaginations."-- Publishers Weekly


"Imagination reigns in this flight of fantasy . . . Rabbits read newspapers, fish fly, and trees grow out of pictures. Readers will have tea with gargoyles and float on lily pad rafts, see books and umbrellas float by, walk among lions and bears, or ride on a fish bus with a bear conductor."-- Booklist
Publisher: New York : Doubleday Books for Young Readers, [2016]
Edition: First American edition.
Copyright Date: ©2014
ISBN: 9781101934579
Branch Call Number: JP Hurst
Characteristics: 1 volume (unpaged) : chiefly colour illustrations ; 29 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
StefanieGeeks
Jul 31, 2017

Whimsical pen illustrations accompany a hopeful poem about imagination. It's a gorgeous book to share with children of all ages. Very few words so its great to read to your youngest, while the detailed illustrations can lead older children to make up stories of their own.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top