The Education of Ivy Blake

The Education of Ivy Blake

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
2
1
Rate this:
* "Likea Anne of Green Gablesa and many other neglected creative girls before her, Ivy is irresistible, and readers will be rooting for her all the way."-- School Library Journal , starred review a Ivy has loved living with her best friend, Prairie, and being part of Prairie's lively, happy family. But now Ivy's mom has decided to take her back. Ivy tries to pretend everything is fine, but her mom's neglect and embarrassing public tantrums often make Ivy feel ashamed and alone. Fortunately, Ivy is able to find solace in art, in movies, and from the pleasure she finds in observing and appreciating life's small, beautiful moments. And when things with her mom reach the tipping point, this ability gives her the strength and power to push on and shape her own future. In this uplifting companion toa Prairie Evers , shy, introverted Ivy must find her footing when her reckless mom turns her world upside down. "Hand to fans of the quiet, resilient, and realistic heroes in Pam Mu oz Ryan'sa Esperanza Rising aor lovers of the novels of Eva Ibbotson." -- Booklis t "An uplifting coming-of-age story that foregrounds both the loss and the luster involved in creating an identity all one's own."-- Kirkus Reviews Perfect for readers of Joan Bauer'sa Close to Famous aand Lynda Mullaly Hunt'sa One for the Murphys !
Publisher: New York, NY : Puffin, 2016.
ISBN: 9780142426807
Branch Call Number: J FIC Airgo
Characteristics: 227 pages ; 19 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
ckaldahl
Jul 02, 2017

a little dark.

Definitely need to read Prairie Evers first but the library doesn't have this title, which seems odd to me.

j
joywolf83
Oct 06, 2015

A sad story of a girl accepting her mother's shortcomings. Not depressing but will definitely make you cry.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

r
red_fox_2247
Nov 18, 2016

red_fox_2247 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 8 and 12

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top