The Trouble With Women

The Trouble With Women

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Perfect for fans of Kate Beaton, Lena Dunham, and Caitlin Moran, The Trouble with Women is a feminist's brilliant, tongue-in-cheek, hysterical look at women's "issues," "frailties," and "failures" in our not-so-distant history.

Ever noticed that women don't feature much in history books, and wondered why? Then this is the book for you. In The Trouble with Women , feminist artist Jacky Fleming illustrates how the opinions of supposed male geniuses, such as Charles Darwin (who believed that women have smaller brains than men) and John Ruskin (who believed that women's main function was to praise men), have shaped the fate of women through history, confining them to a life of domesticity and very little else.

Get ready to laugh, wince, and rescue forgotten women from the "dustbin of history," while keeping a close eye out for tell-tale "genius hair."
Publisher: Kansas City, MO : Andrews McMeel Pub., [2016]
Copyright Date: ©2016
ISBN: 9781449479763
Branch Call Number: Flemi
Characteristics: 117 pages : illustrations ; 19 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

h
haminheadley
Mar 28, 2017

A delicious skewering of the male lens of history. Genius, as we know, has always been masculine, naturally because men have bigger brains. Oh, there might be female exceptions here and there, we know, but those are largely unattractive and relegated to the Dustbin of History. Women have been pulling each other out of the Dustbin for centuries (here illustrated quite literally as a large Dustbin, and Fleming continues the work here with her highlighting of various groundbreaking women, from first doctors Joshi, Okani, Islambooli, and Crumpler, to Marie Curie to Eliza Grier (who paid her way through medical school by alternating years of study with years of picking cotton - wow!). Fleming's tongue is perfectly in cheek throughout this mock history, with such deliciously droll gems like "Women were more concerned about their skirts getting caught up in the wheels [of bicycles], and sat astride wearing Bloomers which turned them into lesbians." Notions like the domestic sphere are illustrated as quite literal spheres containing women.

All in all, I chuckled my way through this little gem, wishing, perhaps, that it could have been longer and given spotlights to more phenomenal women. Perfect for the women's studies student in your life or fans of Kate Beaton (Hark! A Vagrant), this is a charming entry in the canon of feminist herstory.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top