The Gallery

The Gallery

Audiobook CD - 2016 | Unabridged.
Rate this:
A riveting historical art mystery for fans of Chasing Vermeer and The Westing Game , set in the Roaring Twenties

It's 1929, and twelve-year-old Martha has no choice but to work as a maid in the New York City mansion of the wealthy Sewell family. But, despite the Gatsby-like parties and trimmings of success, she suspects something might be deeply wrong in the household--specifically with Rose Sewell, the formerly vivacious lady of the house who now refuses to leave her room. The other servants say Rose is crazy, but scrappy, strong-willed Martha thinks there's more to the story--and that the paintings in the Sewell's gallery contain a hidden message detailing the truth. But in a house filled with secrets, nothing is quite what it seems, and no one is who they say. Can Martha follow the clues, decipher the code, and solve the mystery of what's really going on with Rose Sewell?

Inspired by true events described in a fascinating author's note, The Gallery is a 1920s caper told with humor and spunk that readers today will love.

Publisher: New York : Listening Library, [2016]
Edition: Unabridged.
Copyright Date: ℗2016
ISBN: 9780451485458
Branch Call Number: J Audiobook FIC Fitzg
Characteristics: audio file,CD audio
digital,optical,1.4 m. per second,stereo,Digital recording
6 audio discs (7 hours) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top