Owl Sees Owl

Owl Sees Owl

Book - 2016 | First Edition.
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year

"Simple yet stirring, this is perfect for preschooler bedtimes."-- Booklist starred review

Fans of the classic picture book Owl Babies by Martin Waddell and Patrick Benson will adore this utterly simple picture book in which a baby owl goes off on his first adventure.

With just three or four words per page, this story follows a baby owl one night as he leaves the safety of his nest ( Home/Mama/Brother/Sister ) and explores the starry world around him ( Soar/Glide/Swoop/Swoosh ). Inspired by reverso poetry, the words reverse in the middle when the baby owl is startled upon seeing his reflection in the pond ( Owl/Sees/Owl ). Afraid of it, little owl takes off toward home, soaring over farms and forests ( Swoosh/Swoop/Glide/Soar ) until he is finally safely home again ( Sister/Brother/Mama/Home ).

"Fans of Jane Yolen's Owl Moon and Martin Waddell's Owl Babies will also love this calming story about an owl's first adventure." -- School Library Journal, Starred
Publisher: New York : Schwartz & Wade Books, [2016]
Edition: First Edition.
ISBN: 9780553497823
Branch Call Number: JP Godwi
Characteristics: 1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 27 cm
Additional Contributors: Dunlavey, Rob - Illustrator

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

ChristchurchKids Jan 23, 2017

A baby owl flies from the safety of his nest for the first time to explore the starry nighttime world before being startled back home, in a luminously illustrated picture book that features sparse text inspired by reverso poetry. By the co-author of The Doll People series.

AL_KATI Nov 14, 2016

A delightfully simple story that will soothe before bedtime.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top