Death of An Avid Reader

Death of An Avid Reader

Book - 2016 | First U.S. Edition.
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:

An intricate plot set in the 1920s English countryside and Frances Brody's "refreshingly complex heroine" ( Kirkus ) Kate Shackleton make Death of an Avid Reader an absorbing 6th installment in this mystery, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie.

The Search for a Daughter
Lady Coulton gave up the baby that would have ruined her marriage, born when Lord Coulton was abroad. Now that her husband is dying, she asks Kate to find Sophia.

A Haunted Library
It is forty years since the ghost of a dead librarian haunted the old library, yet the stories have begun again. Kate does not believe in ghosts but obligingly takes part in a ceremony to expel the restless spirit. Shockingly, there is a body in the basement, strangled, and covered in dusty volumes from a fallen bookcase. It is Dr. Potter, a mathematician.

A Killer on the Loose
Dr. Potter's body is taken away. The police find a sick man sheltering in the basement. He is an Italian, Umberto, an organ grinder and owner of a lively Capuchin monkey. Umberto becomes the prime suspect and will be charged with murder. Kate goes with Umberto to the infirmary. But he is too weak to be a suspect. And now Kate must set out to find the real culprit...

Publisher: New York : Minotaur Books/A Thomas Dunne Book, 2016.
Edition: First U.S. Edition.
Copyright Date: ©2014
ISBN: 9781250067395
Branch Call Number: FIC Brody
Characteristics: 360 pages ; 22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

g
glotet
May 20, 2017

Very engaging. Enjoyed this read immensely. Her best book so far.

m
maipenrai
Nov 09, 2016

The sixth book in the Kate Shackleton series

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top