Listen, Slowly

Listen, Slowly

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
7
2
Rate this:

Listen, Slowly is a New York Times Book Review Notable Book and a Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year! This remarkable and bestselling novel from Thanhha Lai, author of the National Book Award-winning and Newbery Honor Book Inside Out & Back Again, follows a young girl as she learns the true meaning of family.

A California girl born and raised, Mai can't wait to spend her vacation at the beach. Instead, she has to travel to Vietnam with her grandmother, who is going back to find out what really happened to her husband during the Vietnam War. Mai's parents think this trip will be a great opportunity for their out-of-touch daughter to learn more about her culture. But to Mai, those are their roots, not her own. Vietnam is hot, smelly, and the last place she wants to be. Besides barely speaking the language, she doesn't know the geography, the local customs, or even her distant relatives. To survive her trip, Mai must find a balance between her two completely different worlds.

Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia and Linda Sue Park, Listen, Slowly is an irresistibly charming and emotionally poignant tale about a girl who discovers that home and culture, family and friends, can all mean different things.

This paperback edition includes a special letter from the author and a Vietnamese glossary and pronunciation guide.

Audience: Ages 8-12.
Publisher: New York : Harper, 2015.
ISBN: 9780062229199
Branch Call Number: J FIC Lai
Characteristics: 260 pages : map ; 20 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

a
amythissun
Jul 22, 2016

I think that this book was pretty good. I like how it gave some insight on the Vietnam cuture. Mai starts off a bit dissagrable, but then slowly turns agreeable. Overall, I enjoyed reading this book.

k
KStramel
Jan 18, 2016

This story starts out a little rocky with a self-centered teenage narrator, Mai, obsessed with her own wants and needs but develops into a sweet story about the importance of love, family and acceptance as she helps her grandmother come to peace with the loss of her grandfather.

b
black_dog_1835
Jan 05, 2016

I did not like this book. All the minor problems in this book were solved in a paragraph or page! I do not recommend this book!

devorah1231 Jan 04, 2016

Not clean enough for a child to read, though nothing really bad happens, this book is full of teenagers talking about their bodies etc.

Watch our conversation with the author on Youtube:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7GrRKH9P3FI&feature=youtu.be

b
bibliokrisp
May 20, 2015

I loved this one. The narrator's voice is believably tween, so when she complains about going to Vietnam for the summer, the reader understands and sympathizes, and when she (Mai) begins to learn more of the language and enjoy her trip, it feels right. Mai goes to Vietnam with her father and grandmother because her grandmother is trying to put her deceased husband's spirit to rest. He had been a prisoner of war and his body never found, so Mai's grandmother needs Mai to help take care of her as she gathers information.

I found this story very moving, with an engaging narrator, an interesting story, and perfect pacing.

multcolib_susannel Mar 28, 2015

California-born Mai has to listen slowly, look carefully and use all her patience when she travels to Vietnam with her Grandmother to find out what really happened to her Grandfather during the war.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

t
thevales
Aug 22, 2017

thevales thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

Black_Butterfly_26 Jan 31, 2016

Black_Butterfly_26 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 8 and 6

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top