Volume One, There Will Be Blood

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
"Where do serial killers come from?" and why has Buckaroo, Oregon givenbirth to sixteen of the most vile serial killers in the world? NSA AgentNicholas Finch needs to solve that mystery in order to save his friend, andhe'll have to team up with the infamous Edward "Nailbiter" Warren to do it.Joshua Williamson and Mike Henderson deliver a mystery that mixes TwinPeaks with the horror of Se7en ! Collects Nailbiter #1-5.
Audience: "Rated M/mature"--P. [4] of cover.
Publisher: Berkeley, Calif. : Image Comics, [2014]
Copyright Date: ©2014
ISBN: 9781632151124
Branch Call Number: Willi
Characteristics: 1 volume (unpaged) : illustrations (chiefly color).
Alternative Title: There will be blood


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Oct 18, 2018

I never thought I'd want to read a comic so heavy on the horror, but comics is all about broadening my genre horizons. Buckaroo, Oregon, is infamous for the sixteen serial killers that have grown up in the town. An FBI agent who was investigating has disappeared, and his friend NSA agent Nicholas Finch is trying to find him. Finch gets help from Buckaroo's Sheriff Sharon Crane... without telling her he's suspended from his job. Suspicion focuses on "The Nailbiter" a.k.a. Edward Warren, one of the serial killers, who lives in Buckaroo after somehow being acquitted for his crimes. Which yes, he totally did commit. After dating Sheriff Crane when they were in high school.

Here's the big question our main characters are led to confront: why does Buckaroo raise so many serial killers? What's going on beneath the town? The characters' search for the answer sucked me in with strong characters, mystery, and beautiful coloring. The series climax maybe got a little speechifying for me, but it was more than made up for by the very-very end scene which was pitch perfect for the genre.

Nailbiter is complete in six paperback collections, or you can opt for the "Murder Edition" hardcovers that will collect the complete series in three volumes.

KCLSRacheal Jan 25, 2017

Nailbiter is set in Buckaroo, Oregon, a fictional town that has turned out 16 different serial killers over the past several decades, not the least of which is our eponymous killer, Edward "Nailbiter" Warren, who's back home after being inexplicably acquitted at trial. Oh, everyone knows he did it, so who's protecting him? Why is there only one FBI agent looking into the town?

This series just gets better and better as you go along! It goes beyond the horror of the various Buckaroo Butchers, and follows the characters as they stumble upon more and more evidence for a larger reason as to why this town has produced so many horrors.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
Jul 19, 2017

Kyanite thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at VPL

To Top