Side Effects May Vary

Side Effects May Vary

Book - 2014 | First edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
3
2

The first book from Julie Murphy, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin'--now a Netflix feature film starring Danielle Macdonald and Jennifer Aniston, with a soundtrack by Dolly Parton!

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel about a girl with cancer who creates a take-no-prisoners bucket list that sets off a war at school--only to discover she's gone into remission.

When sixteen-year-old Alice is diagnosed with leukemia, she vows to spend her final months righting wrongs. So she convinces her best friend, Harvey, to help her with a crazy bucket list that's as much about revenge as it is about hope.

But just when Alice's scores are settled, she goes into remission, and now she must face the consequences of all she's said and done.

Contemporary realistic fiction readers who love romantic stories featuring strong heroines will find much to savor in this standout debut.

Publisher: New York, NY : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2014]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2014
ISBN: 9780062245359
Branch Call Number: YA FIC Murph
Characteristics: 330 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
ArapahoeKati Oct 21, 2016

This is like the opposite of "The Fault in Our Stars" because the main character goes into remission and has to deal with all her mistakes. Really enjoyed this!

k
KMJ_
Mar 14, 2016

This is a different take on the so-called “sick-lit” genre. Alice is upset when her cancer is in remission because she wanted to make everyone who wronged her feel bad when she died. She’s awful. Harvey has grown up worshiping Alice, and at first seems like a likeable-enough character. As the book progresses his nice guy routine wears thin as he constantly feels that he is entitled to have Alice.

s
stepha89
Jul 16, 2014

Alice is an extremely unlikeable main character, which will rub a lot of people the wrong way. Harvey balances her out with his sweetness, even though Alice does a lot of things that make us all urge him to run the other direction. On the other hand, the whole book is about Alice learning how to live when she was supposed to die, and Harvey figuring out how to live for himself instead of for Alice, and Murphy did a great job with their character arcs.

a
aliciamarie
Jul 12, 2014

So there is a book that got turned into a movie recently about a girl with cancer. I have seen the movie trailer and read some book reviews and have no intention on reading it. THIS BOOK was not anything like that. Sure, this girl has cancer, but she is funny, quirky, and a flat out b*tch about it. She isn't dying of cancer while everyone and everything around her turns to rainbows and unicorns. She stirred up trouble, made a "dying to do list" and became a real b*tch to everyone who loved her and an even bigger b*tch to those who hated her. Revenge before death became her main objective. Alice is a very unlikeable girl, but you can't help but like her and get swallowed up into her world. I read this book in less than a day. That's how good this book was!

Notices

Add Notices
s
stepha89
Jul 16, 2014

Sexual Content: One sex scene, but it fades to black. A couple other references to sex.

s
stepha89
Jul 16, 2014

Other: Drugs: one scene where Alice and Harvey smoke pot, and a couple brief scenes featuring underage drinking.

s
stepha89
Jul 16, 2014

Coarse Language: Alice swears a lot.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
s
stepha89
Jul 16, 2014

stepha89 thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

g
gracethegreat11
Jul 06, 2014

gracethegreat11 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 12 and 20

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top